The Fallenposters Blog

Because the posters fell down, duh.

Product Review: Redbox

with 7 comments

This past weekend, Cheri and I got into a Lost: Season 2 marathon of sorts. I got the first disc of the second season of Lost while Cheri got the first disc of the first season of Veronica Mars. So we alternated watching each show (both of which I would highly recommend). We have gotten so addicted to Lost that after we finished the first disc, we ran out to Giant (a grocery store here in NOVA) and rented discs 2 and 3 from the new Redbox that has been installed there.The Redbox is a vending machine that you can rent DVDs from. They currently only have them in select locations across the US (mostly at McDonalds), but they happen to have just installed them in many Giants in this area. The concept is that you look through their inventory, pick a movie you want to rent, swipe your credit card, and it spits it out. It charges $1 per night and after 25 nights, you own the DVD. You can return the DVD to any Redbox (not just the one you got it from).

redbox.jpg

I think its a really innovative way to be able to rent DVDs and I think it will come in handy for Cheri and I when we’re in between Netflix movies. The only downside is that it only has new releases that have come out in the last month or two. So if you wanted to rent a gem such as Battlefield Earth, then you would have to go through a traditional movie rental service. Or your local scientology center.

(Photo taken from this article at Boston.com)


TechnoratiTechnorati: , , , , ,

Written by Eric Spiegel

September 11, 2006 at 9:49 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “…rent a gem such as Battlefield Earth,”

    hr404

    September 16, 2006 at 11:36 pm

  2. [...] The Redbox wooed Cheri and I into having another Lost marathon this weekend. We watched disc 4 on Sunday (which we got from Netflix) and being hooked, immediately trotted over to Giant to get disc 5. That show is so good I’m probably going to be disappointed when we finish season 2. I have little patience when it comes to television, so it’ll probably feel like forever for season 3 to start (Oct. 4th). But what can I do? Its not like we have all the time in the world to watch TV anyway. So maybe it’ll be good to not be glued to the tube everyweekend. Perhaps we can get outside for once.   [...]

  3. Starting watching Lost S2 from Redbox, and now I can’t find disc 5,6, or 7, it shows out of stock. Does anyone know if they will re-stock Lost S2?

    Thank you

    Jack

    October 13, 2006 at 8:39 am

  4. If you go to Redbox’s website, you can find a particular redbox and see what it currently has in stock. I’m not sure how often they re-stock the machines though.

    fallenposters

    October 13, 2006 at 8:14 pm

  5. Thank you, fallenposters, for your help, but I have done that, plus I send redbox a message about it, and have not heard back from them.

    Jack

    October 13, 2006 at 10:02 pm

  6. Has anyone had problems with redbox getting a little happy with credit card charges? I watch my satements very closely and have noticed that one time I had a dvd for three nights, and if my math skills serve me right that should be $1 X 3 nights= $3 correct.. well I’ve seen many charges for $8.66, $6.46 and the list goes on.. all I can say is I’m glad I used my prepaid on this one!!

    Nicole

    March 21, 2009 at 2:49 pm

  7. [...] The video store lawyer seems to have "suggested" that from now on the kiosks should stock only G movies. Otherwise kids could get ahold of an R- or PG-rated film without their parents' knowledge—something that is currently completely impossible in any other venue, as everyone who was ever an American middle-schooler knows. [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

