The Fallenposters Blog

Because the posters fell down, duh.

Overcast Weather Fails to Spoil Good Time at Park

with 2 comments

Cheri and I had some extra energy, so we hopped off the couch and went for a drive.  We ended up at Fountainhead Regional Park and Occoquan Regional Park.  I took the opportunity to shoot away.

Occoquan River, f/14, 1/160 SS, 78 mm, 400 ISO

Weathervane, f/6.3, 1/160 SS, 200 mm, 400 ISO

Weathervane, f/6.3, 1/160 SS, 200 mm, 400 ISO

Snack Time?, f4.5, 1/320 SS, 55 mm, 400 ISO

Snack Time?, f4.5, 1/320 SS, 55 mm, 400 ISO

Cheri Outdoor Portrait, f/4, 1/80 SS, 55 mm, 400 ISO

Obligatory Blossom Close-Up, f/5.6, 1/15 SS, 55 mm, 100 ISO

Obligatory Blossom Close-Up, f/5.6, 1/15 SS, 55 mm, 100 ISO

We were surprised by the ham that floated up to us while we were on the pier.  I think he was used to people feeding the geese at the park.  I was very close to him taking this shot.  I probably could have reached out to touch him.

The rest of the photos from this group can be found on my flickr.

Written by Eric Spiegel

March 28, 2009 at 9:38 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. [...] I had a volume of Joan Didion with me that I had intended to read, but I never feel content reading while standing, unless it’s aloud, as part of my teaching.  So, I stood there and took in the the scenery.  Fountainhead boasts the widest part of the Occoquan Reservoir.  To the right of the pier, you could see the river narrow as a small branch traveled off into the North.  Staright ahead, I could take in the expanse of the resevoir.  One tree, in particular, caught my eye and I gazed off into the distance.  I had Eric capture it with his camera; the resulting photograph stands as the header of this blog today; other moments are available at his own blog. [...]

    Writer’s Block Party

    March 29, 2009 at 9:15 am

  2. Hi Eric,

    I’m with the Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation and this year we are hosting dozens of interactive educational programs, “Understanding Inflammatory Bowel Diseases: What Every Patient Needs to Know,” in cities around the country. This event, open to all patients, family members, caregivers, and community members, is hosted by the Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation and will be led by local physician experts.

    I’m writing to ask you if you can post information about this event series on your blog. Our experts in patient care and research will provide an in-depth overview of IBD, including:

    Guidance on how to recognize symptoms
    How to manage your disease
    Current therapies and emerging research
    Disease and treatment-related side effects
    Emotional wellness and resources
    Question-and-answer session
    You can find a list of events at http://www.ccfa.org/info/understanding . It would be great if you could let me know if you are able to blog about this…also please let me know if you have any questions!

    Thank you,
    Sara

    Sara

    June 15, 2010 at 3:48 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

