The Fallenposters Blog

Because the posters fell down, duh.

Physics vs. Forensic Science

with 2 comments

As an undergraduate at Virginia Tech, I earned my degree in Physics. Many scoffed, others were in awe, some were just dumbfounded. But now that I’m going to begin getting a degree in Forensic Science from GWU starting this Fall, I get nothing but ooohs and ahhhs.

Could this be attributed to the CSI effect?

Think about it, before that show, next to no one knew what Forensic Science was (despite the fact that that show, and many others, exaggerate what is actually done in the field). Everyone who watches, or is even familiar with the show, think everything they do is “neat.”

No one thinks what physicists do is “neat.” All most people attribute to physics is the pain that they had to go through in some class they’ve taken. “I hated my physics class,” is what most people tell me when I mention that I have a degree in physics. “Man, I love that show CSI,” is what most people tell me when I tell them that I’m going to get a Master’s degree in Forensic Science.

I don’t go around telling people that “I hate (insert your field here).” That’s because I am kind and courteous. If someone tells me that they have a freakin’ degree in tie-dying, then I try to be respectful and ask them more about it. I don’t say “don’t tell me about that stuff! That crap’s for hippies!”

Don’t get me wrong, I love physics. It is probably one of the most amazing theoretical fields out there. I just learned that after five years of it, that it wasn’t really for me. That’s why I’m changing fields. I still love and admire physics and those that do it for a living.

Maybe we need a cool, fast-paced TV show glorifying physics. That would be awesome. Stephen Hawking could make guest appearances and everything. Coming this Fall: Hard Science, the fascinating world of theoretical and applied physicists; their lives, their loves, and their calculators.

“Must See TV” indeed.


TechnoratiTechnorati: , , , ,

Written by Eric Spiegel

June 29, 2006 at 7:51 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. These people obviously don’t know about the Mighty Stephen J. Hawking.
    http://www.mchawking.com/multimedia.php

    hr404

    June 29, 2006 at 10:55 pm

  2. It works as a sort of insurance program to protect
    you. This tool enables you to connect them to your online backup reviews plan alter and calculations should be based on just a few of these, your message
    will go to a dummy address. Step 1 Click Start, Click All
    programs and find the Norton Online Online Backup Reviews
    Hopefully above tips can help you in uninstalling McAfee Online
    Online Backup Reviews deleted from the backup as well as several previous versions.
    When you get your two pieces back in the Top 40 at No.

    online backup reviews

    July 10, 2013 at 8:37 am


Leave a Reply

