The Fallenposters Blog

Because the posters fell down, duh.

Metro Observation #1

with one comment

This here is a first of (what I assume will be) many posts about things that I observe while riding the Metro on my way to work. My commute to Arlington will be managed best by taking the Metro, so I’m sure I won’t be short on material much.metrorail.jpg

Vienna Metro Station and the Orange Line

The Metro has each rail line named by color (red, green, orange, yellow, blue). Each line has a beginning and an end. Once a train has reached the end of the line, guess what it does. It goes back in the opposite direction (really!). I don’t think very many people are aware of this concept. More likely, its probably the tourists that don’t get it, but come on, it isn’t that hard to figure out. I mean, where else is it going to go? It isn’t going to fly back to where it started.

Example: I got on the Orange Line at the Vienna Metro Station today to go and turn in some paperwork for my new job. The Orange Line starts (and ends) at this station. So naturally, it doesn’t matter what train you get on since they are all going in the same direction. A group of tourists got on the train after I did and they could not stop talking about how they weren’t sure if they were on the right train.

“Is this the orange?”

“Are we on the right train?”

“I can’t tell if we’re on the right train.”

It doesn’t matter if you’re on the right train. There is only one train, on one line, going in one direction! I could understand the confusion if you were at a station that services multiple lines, but come on. Did the LED sign on the outside of the train not make it obvious enough that this was the Orange Line? I mean, it says (in English!) “Orange”–with an orange-colored circle next to it nonetheless.

I guess I just feel strongly about this because when I am going somewhere I’m not familiar with, I make sure to figure out how to get there. And if getting there requires a transportation system other than my car, than I’ll make sure to learn how to use said system before I have to actually use it. I go online, read about the Metro, learn which stations I need to get on at and get off at, how much it costs, how to pay, etc.

I don’t know whether to catagorize people like this as either lazy or stupid. Maybe both.


TechnoratiTechnorati: , , , ,

Written by Eric Spiegel

August 17, 2006 at 8:15 pm

Posted in grab bag

Tagged with , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I bet those adventurous cats rode the train until they ended up where they started. And then waited for another one. I hope THAT one was the right train.

    tacofish

    August 17, 2006 at 10:28 pm


Leave a Reply

