The Fallenposters Blog

Because the posters fell down, duh.

Metro Observation #3

leave a comment »

While riding the metro the past few weeks, I’ve noticed a number of unspoken rules that most of the regular riders follow. And when a n00b is breaking these rules, the regulars get quite pushy. I’ve probably broken these rules before when I first started riding the metro, so I apologize to anyone who I’ve upset in the course of their daily rush to get to work or wherever.

One of the rules I’ve noticed is that when you are on an escalator leading to or from a platform, if you wish to not walk up the escalator (i.e. ride it like it was designed) then you need to stay on the right side. That way the left side is left free for the rushers to speedwalk up (or down) the escalator to get to their destination. You mostly notice this rule happening during the weekdays, when most of the tourists aren’t around. But during the weekend you will notice people blatently ignoring this rule.

Now, if during the weekend a person is blocking the left side of the escalator because they don’t know better, I don’t give a crap. Its the weekend, no one should be needing to rush anywhere. But I’ve seen people fuss at others just over this. Who cares? If its during the rush, then most people are observant enough to know to stand on the right side, but on the weekends there are considerably less people riding so there isn’t enough rush to warrant a need for this rule. I just don’t understand how someone can get pissy about the fact that people that don’t live in this area aren’t magically aware of the unspoken ettiquite about riding the metro. Get over it and enjoy the fact that it is the weekend!

This is actually the only unspoken rule I can think of at this moment. So I guess I lied earlier. If I think of another one, then I’ll post about it later.


TechnoratiTechnorati: , , , , ,

Written by Eric Spiegel

September 19, 2006 at 2:46 pm

Leave a Reply

