The Fallenposters Blog

Because the posters fell down, duh.

Class Difficulties (or a Lack Thereof)

with 3 comments

Have I mentioned here that my masters program in Forensic Science is very underwhelming? Compared to the year I spent in graduate school for Physics, this program just feels like it isn’t as hard as it should be. I mean come on, IT IS GRADUATE SCHOOL. But I’m at a crossroads about the whole situation.

I love my classes (which is very difficult to say about much of my time in Physics). My Homicide Investigation course is truly interesting. The readings are very interesting and the teacher–a former homicide detective–is a riot in class. The only problem is that I don’t find it very challenging. I mean, I’m learning a lot about how a homicide investigation is ran and the many different types of homicides there are, yet I don’t feel like I’m having to work hard in the course.

My other course is Forensic Pathology. And this course is wonderful. Despite the fact that it isn’t taught on campus, it is still a good course. I’m learning all about things like post-mortem changes in the body, blunt force and sharp force injuries, forensic dentistry, forensic anthropology, and so on. It is taught by a group of licenced medical examiners who have tremendous amounts of experience in the field. Every class is very well done. And once again, I don’t really do anything for the course except listen to lectures and take two tests. I mean I haven’t even bought on of the “recommended” text books for the course, and I don’t think I will.

I guess my problem is that a majority of the college work I’ve ever had involved spending hours upon hours on homework sets only to get a poor grade back and an urgence to pluck my eyeballs out. But in these courses, there is no written work. We have readings, mid-term exams, and final exams. Some courses have a corresponding lab, and others occasionaly have us write a paper or two (OH NO!). That’s it! Like I’ve said before, this is graduate school. Isn’t this supposed to be hard?

Oh well, I guess we’ll see if I’ll be eating my foot when I take my mid-terms this week.

Written by Eric Spiegel

February 25, 2007 at 8:08 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It could be too not hard, I guess…is too not hard possible?

    hr404

    February 25, 2007 at 9:20 pm

  2. I don’t know hon. I’d still say that the biggest difference is that you really like the stuff you’re doing now. Physics was a burden because it wasn’t the right thing for you. Remember–when I was in grad school I bitched a lot, but in truth, I hardly did anything and always got solid grades. When you love it–it doesn’t have to be hard. We just like to complain to keep that whole “grad school is hard” myth up. In reality: people complain to much.

    Writer's Block Party

    February 26, 2007 at 9:34 am

  3. Don’t gauge your class difficulty by the requirements. It looks like you are getting a brake but it could be that your work ethic and integrity are being challenged. Do your own research and hard work to your standard and there will be no regrets. Grad school is only a validation of your own hard work. After you’ve completed your studies only then can you begin to compare your relative ease to others. It would be hard to take if once you graduate you find out that the top people in your field worked 2 or 3 times harder than you on their own while you maybe slacked off because the requirements were easy. It would be better if you were the one who worked 3 times harder than anyone else and then you can brag big time, when you take home twice the paycheck of those who squandered their time.

    JarjarB

    February 26, 2007 at 7:59 pm


Leave a Reply

