The Fallenposters Blog

Because the posters fell down, duh.

All Medicated Geniuses

with 5 comments

All my life I have been fairly healthy.  I’ve usually only gotten a cold or the flu about once a year, and its been limited to just that.  In general, I’ve never really had to ever take any medications.  I was on painkillers when I had my wisdom teeth cut out a few years ago and I was also put on some antibiotics in high school once when I had my ingrown toenails removed.  That is about all the medication I’ve ever been on for my entire life.

Today is a different story.  I’ve been diagnosed with Crohn’s disease, and now all the doctors want to do is pump me full of meds.  I’m on Asacol, which is a topical medication for the lining of my intestines.  What I mean by “topical” is that it kind of coats the lining of my intestines to try to help them heal.  Its not like I have to cut myself open and rub on some ointment. 

I’m also on an immune suppressant.  This is to help lower my immune system since apparently mine thinks I’m the enemy.  With Crohn’s, the immune system is attacking the digestive bacteria that live in my intestines, which causes the lining of my lower bowel to get inflamed.  I guess my immune system is just confused or something.  This may be why I never really got sick much my whole life.

I’m also on doctor’s orders to take an iron supplement since I’ve become borderline anemic.  This might explain why over the last few years I’ve always had problems with having a lack of energy.  The iron is definitely helping though.  I’ve felt like I’ve had more energy than I’ve had in a long time.  Unfortunately, now I have to hunt squirrels with homemade tools in my bare feet to kill off some of the excess energy.

And since I have Crohn’s disease, I also have what is called Perianal Crohn’s disease.  Basically, that is when the Crohn’s disease effects the anus.  Sounds like a hoot, right?  But because of this, I’ve developed some perianal abscesses and some fistulas.  Last month I had surgery to try to correct them.  But I’m still recovering from the surgery and as the fistulas heal, my surgeon has put me on an antibiotic.  And she is requiring me to take a fiber supplement as well so that my poops don’t hurt too much. 

So all in all, I’m taking 3 prescriptions, and 2 supplements.  This is the most medication I’ve ever had in my life.  And more than likely I’ll be on it for the rest of my life.  At least I’ll have the energy to hunt more squirrels.

Written by Eric Spiegel

February 27, 2007 at 5:39 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I never started getting sick and having medical problems until I went to the doctor. Guess my guy needed the repeat business.

    tacofish

    February 27, 2007 at 6:35 pm

  2. Yes, you having this new energy is great for me too. The best part, for me, is squirrel every night for dinner! What do you say honey, let’s do the Sweet and Sour Squirrel tonight!

    Writer's Block Party

    February 27, 2007 at 8:07 pm

  3. hmmm, squirrel!

    JarjarB

    February 28, 2007 at 8:30 pm

  4. If you stop thinking about Crohn’s and start thinking about a nice relaxing weekend at the beach you can zoom yourself into wellness. ha ha Mind over matter. Does it work? Mom

    Mom

    March 1, 2007 at 8:48 am

  5. Hi

    Sorry this is the last post

    If you want to discuss Crohn’s a bit more please go to

    http://www.thepatientconnections.com/blog.asp?uid=24

    We are running a research blog on the subject and your comments and opinions would be greatly appreciated

    Thanks

    Belinda

    Belinda Shale

    April 8, 2007 at 7:38 am


Leave a Reply

