The Fallenposters Blog

Because the posters fell down, duh.

Career Thoughts

with 6 comments

So, recently I began reading the novel Darkly Dreaming Dexter by Jeff Lindsay and its protagonist got me thinking about some career ideas.  The main character, Dexter, is a blood splatter pattern analyst.  I’ve been intrigued by blood splatter but haven’t had the chance to study it in a course yet (I will this summer in my Crime Scene Investigation course though).  But this book made me investigate it a little further.

One thing I learned is that it is one of the few specialties (other than accident reconstruction and ballistics) in forensic science that uses a lot of math and physics.  This made me happy to learn because I’ve been struggling with the idea of just giving up my math and physics background for forensic science.  But now that I have learned about this career path, I’ve been seriously considering going for it once I graduate.

So I did a little research and in order to become a blood splatter pattern analyst, you’ve got to first start off as a general crime scene investigator.  Once you do that, you can begin taking specialized day courses at different police colleges and seminars during the year.  Once you go through the courses, you can get your certification (through the IABPA), and then you can work on getting a job as a blood splatter pattern analyst.

Written by Eric Spiegel

March 16, 2007 at 8:13 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As in the serial killer serial killer from the Showtime series Dexter?

    Jak

    March 23, 2007 at 2:32 pm

  2. Cool blog. I work for a company that runs academic summer camps for highschool students, and this year, we’re offering forensic science as a course. Do you know anyone who might be interested in teaching? You can write me through my blog (which is unrelated to my job).

    Becca

    trybecca

    March 23, 2007 at 3:36 pm

  3. @Jak: Yup, that’s right, this book is what the Showtime series Dexter is based on.

    fallenposters

    March 25, 2007 at 9:08 am

  4. GreaT!!! I’m officially discouraged thanks to the Math/physics portion of the study 😦

    whitney

    August 3, 2009 at 11:31 pm

  5. coOL!

    lolololol1234567890

    August 24, 2009 at 12:26 am

  6. Im in geometry right now. better try to learn it well!!

    lolololol1234567890

    August 24, 2009 at 12:26 am


Leave a Reply

