The Fallenposters Blog

Because the posters fell down, duh.

Kosher Coke

with 2 comments

Last week, I read this post from The Consumerist that talked about Coke releasing a kosher-for-passover version of their soft drink. I was intrigued because even though Coke is normally kosher, it isn’t kosher enough for passover. The difference? Normal Coke is made with corn syrup–which isn’t passover friendly. Thus they released batches this past week made with sugar instead of corn syrup. Since this is how Coke used to be made back in the olden days (you know, before the internets and such), I wondered if there would be a difference in the taste.

So when Cheri and I went to get some groceries this weekend, we stopped by the soda aisle and lo-and-behold, we found the kosher Coke. Coca-Cola made it easy to find by making the bottle have a bright yellow cap with some Hebrew written on it. I’m not exactly sure what it says, but we knew we had the right stuff. Then we subsequently paid for it, took it home, and had some.

At first, I wasn’t sure if I could taste the difference, but after a while I realized there was a difference. There was both a taste difference and a physical difference. The taste is hard to explain, so I won’t try to do so here. But the physical difference was that it was much much foamier than normal. It was almost as foamy as root beer tends to be. Unfortunately, I don’t think this kosher Coke will be available all year long, so I’m going to have to try to stock up on it. Perhaps I’ll do a blind taste test to see if I can tell the difference.

Written by Eric Spiegel

March 19, 2007 at 4:30 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. On the way to the store to get some now, hmmm…I wonder if our local Food Lion has this in stock or if I’ll have to head over to Norfolk to find this…

    hr404

    March 21, 2007 at 6:42 pm

  2. Norfolk would probably be your best bet–but you never know. Speaking of Food Lion, all the Food Lions up here are turning into stores called “Bloom.” Weird.

    fallenposters

    March 21, 2007 at 8:12 pm


Leave a Reply

