The Fallenposters Blog

Because the posters fell down, duh.

No Love for Olive Garden

leave a comment »

This past weekend, Cheri and I decide to go to Olive Garden on Saturday night for a nice meal. We got there at about 5 pm, so we figured it wouldn’t be too crowded. We were wrong. It was really crowded, but we decided to wait since it was only supposed to be about a 20 minute wait for a table.

Then they give us that little circular pager thingie to hold onto until it buzzes. When it buzzes, then our table is ready. 20 minutes pass and no table. About another 20 minutes pass and still no table. So I go up and ask the hostess what’s going on. She goes to check where our pager is in the queue and comes back with a grimace that looked like she pooped a little when she just meant to fart. I knew then that they had forgotten our pager. So thus we were put at the front of the line and in a few minutes we were at our table.

Our section had this lovely waiter that was very eager, charismatic, and friendly. Unfortunately, we were the only table in that section that was not assigned to him. Instead we get a cold, quiet, and slow waiter. It took him at least 15 minutes to first greet us after we had sat. And later, when it was time to get our check, it took about 20 more minutes just for him to come by so I could ask for the check. I should have gotten a manager to complain, but I just didn’t want to make a scene.

Since our waiter was so terrible (I asked for a side of Italian sausage with my ravioli, and he brought out ONE sausage), that I stiffed him on the tip. It was probably the first time I’ve ever really done that and felt the waiter really deserved it. To add insult to injury, I wrote “Terrible Service! :-(” on the top of the check (yes, I did write out the frowny-face emoticon).

Basically, my lesson was that when I want good Italian food, don’t go to Olive Garden, just make it at home.

Written by Eric Spiegel

April 9, 2007 at 9:37 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

