The Fallenposters Blog

Because the posters fell down, duh.

My First Colonoscopy

leave a comment »

Guess what that picture is! Its my terminal ileum. What is a terminal ileum, you might ask? Its where my small intestine ends and meets up with my large intestine (the colon).

On July 18th, I went in to have a colonoscopy done to take a look at my intestinal area which is affected by Crohn’s disease. In my case, I have Crohn’s Ileitis, which is when Crohn’s disease only affects the ileum. As you can see from the picture, the Crohn’s disease has caused ulcerations in the ileum (the white, mucus-like areas shown). The doctor took a biopsy to of my ileum to send to the lab to get tested for Crohn’s disease. The results came back to be consistent with the disease.

It actually turned out to be a good thing that only my ileum is affected. This is because many Crohn’s patients experience ulceration in both their ileum and their colon. This can cause much worse symptoms and issues than those that I’ve had to deal with.

Written by Eric Spiegel

August 1, 2007 at 2:03 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

