The Fallenposters Blog

Because the posters fell down, duh.

A Very Merry Christmas Visit Home

with one comment

 Cheri and I in Chesapeake

Our annual Christmas excursion to Chesapeake is done.  This past Saturday, Cheri and I drove down to Chesapeake to visit our families for the holiday.  In order to avoid any traffic, we got up early on Saturday and left town around 6 am.  Getting up that early wasn’t difficult since we are both used to getting up that early for our jobs.

We were in town by around 10 am and had all day to spend with our families.  We went to lunch and did some mulling around the mall with Cheri’s parents and her brother and his girlfriend.  The mall was a madhouse, of course.  That evening we spent time hanging out at my parent’s house and eating dinner together.  By the end of dinner, I was about to pass out since I was exhausted from the day’s events.

We accidentally slept in on Sunday, so we missed going to church with Cheri’s parents.  So I took advantage of the time we had and I went to the mall to finish up some shopping (I needed a few more presents to get for Cheri).  The mall was surprisingly dead on Sunday morning.  I guess everyone decided to avoid the crowds that morning — better for me.

On Christmas Eve, I went to play golf at Bid-a-wee Golf Course in Portsmouth with my Dad, my father-in-law, and my brother-in-law (the ladies went to go see a chick flick).  We had a great time–the weather was perfect (50s, sunny, little wind).  I only threw two temper tantrums and lost only 3 golf balls.  It was one of my best games :).  My best shot of the day came when I chipped a shot in for par from about 60 yards away.  Those sessions at the driving range with Jason must have helped.

Later that night, after Cheri and I went to church, we went over to my parent’s house to open up presents with them (since we were staying at my in-laws).  I got a few books and a guitar DVD.  But the big present was a new 22″ wide screen monitor that was a present to both Cheri and I.  It is so much better than the 7 year-old CRT monitor I’ve had since college.  Next upgrade will hopefully be the video card (or maybe a whole new machine).

Painting of Grandpa

My Mom had commissioned my cousin Dana (link) to paint a portrait of my Dad’s father.  The painting came out awesome we were all impressed by it.  My Dad was really close to his father (who died about 10 years ago), so I know this painting means a lot to him.  I wish he would have lived longer so I could have gotten to know him better.

On Christmas morning, Cheri and I opened presents with her family.  We each got a ton of goodies.  In particular, I got a set of juggling balls, a bamboo cutting board, a new bible, and some board games.  Most of the morning was spent playing with our new toys, especially my father-in-law, Frenchie.

Frenchie enjoying his mp3 player

That afternoon, Cheri and I got together with her family and my parents and we all went out to eat at the Founders Inn for Christmas dinner/lunch.  They had a great buffet that had lots of good food (along with breakfast foods too!).  The only problem was that it was a bit too pricey and our waitress kept nagging us to fill out the stupid survey about our dining experience.  Next year I think we may try to find somewhere else to have our Christmas dinner/lunch.  Here’s a picture of Rob in front of a funny sign we saw while waiting for our table.

Rob likes muffins

Overall we had a great time visiting our families.  The trip was too short so we didn’t get to meet up with some of our friends while we were home, so we’ll just have to catch up next time.  I hope everyone had a great holiday!

My Mom is goofy

Written by Eric Spiegel

December 26, 2007 at 6:41 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Your grandpa was a great man, war hero and father. You learned his best traits and knowledge of life through me. All that you have become is partly due to him, me and you. I hope you are fortunate enough to have children of your own, so you can pass on to them the best we had to offer.

    Dad,
    Grandpa Charlie

    Dad

    January 3, 2008 at 6:38 pm


Leave a Reply

