The Fallenposters Blog

Because the posters fell down, duh.

From Student Aide to Physical Scientist

with one comment


Farewell Cake
Originally uploaded by fallenposters

Friday was my last day at the Arlington County Police Department.

All day long I had mixed feelings. On the one hand I was really sad to leave. I had worked at ACPD for over a year and have really gotten to know my co-workers well and have grown to seeing them as almost a second family. On the other hand, I was really excited to be leaving. I start my first real full-time job on Monday.

For the past month, I’ve been preparing to leave by training my replacement, Derek, catching up on work that had piled up, and writing manuals for future Student Aides. On Friday, we had a farewell lunch in my unit. My boss bought everyone lunch from El Pollo Rico and a cake from Randolph’s in Arlington. It was a fun lunch and it made me even sadder to leave.

Looking back, this job fell into my lap through the thanks of both my adviser at GWU and God. The job at ACPD gave me experience great working in forensics — which is what I think helped me land my new job.

Looking ahead, I will be now commuting down to Quantico working as a physical scientist at the FBI Laboratory. I start work on Monday and I’m scared shitless. But I know that it will work out great and it will be another great stepping stone for my forensics career. I can’t wait :-D.

Written by Eric Spiegel

January 5, 2008 at 11:09 pm

Posted in work & money

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Welcome to the working class party!
    BTW, that cake looks scrumdiddlyumptious

    hr404

    January 7, 2008 at 8:11 am


Leave a Reply

