The Fallenposters Blog

Because the posters fell down, duh.

Crohns Disease Update – March 2008

with 7 comments

I’m not quite sure (and too lazy to look) when the last time I posted a Crohns Disease related update, but now is as good as any other time. 

Its been over a year since the surgery I had to correct three fistulas caused by perianal abscesses (which in turn were caused by the Crohns).  I had three setons put in (basically threads to help keep the fistula open to allow for drainage as they healed) at the surgery and have since had two removed.  I still have two fistulas present while one has closed up completely.  I’ve been going to my colon and rectal surgeon almost every month wherein she examines my fistulas and treats them will silver nitrate to promote healing. 

I’m still taking daily doses of both Asacol and 6-MP (aka mercaptopurine) to manage the symptoms.  I haven’t had any major symptoms nor flare ups since last year when I was first diagnosed.  Occasionally I will have some minor temporary stomach cramps and/or some joint pain (mainly in my fingers or my knees).  But these have been relatively minor and infrequent.      

Since my fistulas haven’t been healing as quickly as my surgeon would like me to begin treatment with the drug Remicade.  I’ve been hesitant to be put on Remicade since it is administered intravenously and once you begin treatment, you must remain on the drug for the rest of your life, otherwise it will become ineffective.  From what I’ve read, Remicade has been a wonderful treatment for those with Crohns Disease and perianal disease.  I have an appointment with my GI doctor next week, and I’ll discuss this option with him and see what he suggests.   

But overall, my health has been greatly improved over this time last year.  I’ve gained back most of the weight I initially lost when I had my first flare up, and I haven’t had a flare up since that initial attack.  I give great thanks to my wife Cheri, my family, my friends, my doctors, my co-workers, my church small group and God for all the healing that I’ve received this past year.  Hopefully the healing will continue and soon I will be completely symptom free. 

Written by Eric Spiegel

March 24, 2008 at 8:58 pm

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Stay informed about treatment alternatives and ask lots of questions of your doctors. Only you can make the right decision for you. We love you and hope you can find the answers you need.

    Dad

    March 26, 2008 at 8:27 pm

  2. I had the same issue as you are dealing with regarding the abscess and the setons. My surgary took over a year to heal from completely. It is very time consuming.

    vincent

    April 2, 2008 at 5:48 pm

  3. I have been on the remicade for over a year now and it is the best thing i did.

    vincent

    April 2, 2008 at 5:49 pm

  4. I also have concerns about Remicade. But I agree with the comment made by “Dad”: You have to make the decision that’s the best for YOU. Nobody knows what it’s like except you. I also agree in finding out what options are available and not just taking somebody’s word for it (even if he is a doctor). I’ve had to learn that the hard way.
    Good luck!
    http://crohnsandlife.blogspot.com/

    Belinda

    April 3, 2008 at 10:48 am

  5. Stay strong buddy!!! Don’t lose hope and keep your head up!

    Peter in NYC

    April 7, 2008 at 7:51 pm

  6. Hi – just ran across your blog while looking for information for a relative with Crohn’s. Our daughter has it too.

    We’ve run into a diet that seems to have a BIG benefit for Crohn’s patients, and wanted to mention it if you don’t know about it already:

    Breaking the Vicious Cycle. By Elaine Gottschall.

    Take care, and best wishes,
    Larry

    Larry

    April 21, 2008 at 12:57 pm

  7. My husband suffers from Crohns Disease. Many years ago his doctor, now retired, treated him with silver nitrate. Recently he had a flare up and has seen several doctors who claim they have never heard of using silver nitrate. Is this procedure still being used?

    Nancy Bennett

    October 15, 2010 at 3:47 pm


Leave a Reply

