The Fallenposters Blog

Because the posters fell down, duh.

Multipoint Status Update

with 4 comments

Ok, ok, status updates:

1. I graduate this Saturday.

Yup, that is right. After two years of classes learning about fingerprints, firearms, DNA, autopsies, homicides, crime scenes, and the like, I will be getting my Master of Forensic Science degree from The George Washington University. I’m feeling a tad ambivalent about it though. On one hand I’m extremely happy that I’m done with school (for probably the rest of my life). On the other hand, I’m wondering what I’m going to do with myself. I won’t have classes, homework, a job, and a life to juggle. I’m fearful that I’m going to be bored. But I have lots of hobbies I want to pursue (like my photography, guitar, and violin). Maybe I’ll actually keep updating my blog consistently (what a concept!).

2. No Remicade for Me.

I visited my GI doctor last month and he decided that it isn’t the right time for me to go on Remicade (more about Remicade here). He felt that my symptoms weren’t severe enough to warrant me going on such an extreme treatment method. Instead, he upped my 6-MP dosage. Hopefully this will slowly heal my fistula. Since the visit the pain and discomfort from my fistula has dropped a lot. I’m going to set up a visit with my colon and rectal surgeon for next month to see how it is doing and hopefully see if the drain that is set in there can be removed.

3. Flickr and Twitter Updates

I have seriously become uber-addicted to Twitter lately. I’m updating at least once a day (if not more than that sometimes). I’ve also set it up so that I can update it via SMS text messaging through my cell phone. Since I don’t have an unlimited text messaging plan with my phone company (T-Mobile), I am trying to keep myself from updating via SMS only when I’m not within reach of internet access (which is pretty rare).

I’ve also updated my flickr with a bunch of pictures. Some are from my friend Larry’s wedding and some are from Cheri’s friend Melissa’s wedding. There are also a bunch of random other images as well. Here’s one of my favorite photos from this last batch, our friend Kate (left) with Cheri (right) getting ready for Larry’s wedding:

Kate and Cheri at Larry's Wedding

Written by Eric Spiegel

May 12, 2008 at 9:07 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Cheri and I are so pimp. G-UNIT!

    Bunnah

    May 14, 2008 at 7:56 am

  2. I left a comment on your other blog post written when you first got the fistula.

    We are treating my son’s fistula with Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy (HBOT) Things are going well so far. I left links to the studies in my other comments under that post. We have been able to avoid all the toxic drug treatments. They had scheduled him for surgery to put the seton in, and were planning to use Remicaide as a bridge to the 6MP (they didn’t tell us it would be for life, the Remicaide.) My husband is a doctor and looked up the studies on the seton surgeries. They had poor outcomes. When we asked the colo-rectal surgeon about this he replied: “Unfortunately, this surgery has a very high failure rate.” (This was a top doc at Columbia University.)

    The only drugs he’s had to be on so far are two standard antibiotics, ciproflaxicin and metranidazole. HBOT is used in diabetic wound healing. It enhances the effect of the antibiotics and helps the tissues to heal. Also, HBOT has an immune modulating effect that is similar to Remicaide in that it reduces the tumor necrosis factor alpha cells, like Remicaide does, but HBOT is natural with very minimal side effects, while Remicaide can cause all kinds of things like cancer and tuberculosis!!

    We are also giving him probiotics prescribed by a nutritionist, and feeding him an ultra healthy diet. I drive to a farm outside my state to buy him unpasteurized, nonhomogenized milk (www.realmilk.com) and get fresh eggs from free range chickens, and all kinds of other new dietary practices that are changing our whole life.

    The book “Patient Heal Thyself” by Jordan Rubin has a lot of great information in it. Jordan Rubin healed himself of Crohn’s using a probiotic and nutritional approach. He did not have perianal Crohn’s but our son is doing really great using the recommendations in the book. Our son also has an inflamed illeum.

    Okay, I’ll stop being lazy and go back and cut and paste from the post I left for you on the other page Here’s what I wrote:

    My 15yo son recently diagnosed with Crohn’s disease and had an anal fistula from an abscess that had opened and was draining on his own. He’s been on ciproflaxicin and metranidazol since April 1st and we had surgery scheduled to have a seton put in because he was going to start on Remicaide.

    But we canceled the surgery (and the plans to commence Remicaide) when we found an exciting new treatment, Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy (HBOT). My husband is a doctor and looked up the studies and they have had some success treating fistula with HBOT. Here’s a link to a page that has some studies on HBOT and perianal Crohn’s that people might like to know about: http://www.hitechbo.com/Final/HBOT.htm

    Scroll down that page to find this link: http://www.richmond-hyperbaric.com/RHHC.studies.Crohn’s.htm

    We are having miraculous results!! The fistula is beginning to heal after only 9 HBOT treatments. I believe that this is going to be the new way to treat Crohn’s for everyone very soon.

    Frances

    May 25, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    • It’s so great to hear that you are having success with HBO. Our 25 year old daughter has a Crohn’s-related fistula too, but hers goes from her small intestine to her abdomen. She had been told by her gastro that she needs to go on Remicade too. So we had her go to the Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville and they came to the same conclusion. We also have been hearing a lot about HBO and the fact that it is logical that it could have a great affect on healing a wound of this sort but medical doctors don’t seem to put much faith in it. We’re going to pursue a medical doctor in Orlando who also is interested in natural methods and uses HBO. Wish us luck.

      Sherry

      September 18, 2009 at 8:49 pm

  3. Dear Sir,
    I’m Dr Dishari mukherjee, I’ve recently completed my MBBS(Bachelor Of medicine Bachelor Of Surgery) from india and I’m interested in pursuing Forensic Medicine as my higher studies and although MD forensic medicine is available in India it’s quite hopeless(there’s nothing to do other than post mortems!)…so,i’ve decided to get a masters in fm…unfortunately, I’m not from the Us and none of my seniors are into fm(either they are doing MPH or MD after USMLE)…and since you’ve already done your masters, could you pls give me some guidance as regards the best universities, how to get into grad school and whether it’s worth pursuing at all…
    at this stage, I’m quite lost and confused and i would really appreciate it, if you could help me…thanks…

    Dishari

    July 5, 2008 at 3:07 am


Leave a Reply

