The Fallenposters Blog

Because the posters fell down, duh.

Couch to 5k – Week 1

with 3 comments

Cheri and I started the Couch to 5k beginner’s running routine this week (with inspiration from our friends Kate and Jason).  Since this is our first week we alternate running for 60 seconds and walking for 90 seconds for a full 20 minutes (plus warm ups and cool downs before and after).  We’ve been doing this around the lake that hides behind our apartment building.  Cheri used Map My Run to determine the distance around the lake (about 0.6 miles).

The first day I think we slightly over did ourselves.  We were both really huffy-puffy by the middle of our routine and struggled to finish.  Today, we didn’t have much of a problem at all.  I think the main reason is that we talked during our runs.  Talking helped us keep a slower pace because we knew we couldn’t talk to each other if we were gasping for air (this is why drowning victims are often not very vocal).

Cheri found out that there is also a Couch to 5k podcast available on iTunes that coaches you through your routines.  It seemed interesting but the music was mostly frenetic techno that wasn’t too appealing.  I think we’ll keep talking while running instead.

Written by Eric Spiegel

August 25, 2008 at 7:09 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good to see someone else participating in the Couch-to-5K. I just finished my third week and have lost almost 10 lbs (my next weigh in is Monday…hopefully I’ll see a few more lbs come off). The C25K is something that has helped me tremendously. Good luck with your pursuit of shedding the weight! 🙂

    Erik

    August 30, 2008 at 7:35 pm

  2. Awesome. I’m going from barely running to half a marathon, myself. You should think about doing the half marathon for the CCFA, if there’s a training group in your area:

    http://www.active.com/donate/MI09dcvirginia/JNemecek33

    JC

    October 10, 2008 at 5:10 pm

  3. I think I’ll stick with the 5k for now, but I’ll keep an eye out for any CCFA 5k’s in the future :).

    fallenposters

    October 13, 2008 at 4:17 pm


Leave a Reply

