The Fallenposters Blog

Because the posters fell down, duh.

NPR? I Hardly Knew Her!

leave a comment »

NPR has saved my morning commute.

Ever since I started at my current job, I’ve had to endure an hour long commute.  Luckily, its against traffic, but still — an hour is an hour.  I’ve more or less been content with listening to my iPod during these drives, but after a while I feel like I’ve listened to all my favorite songs way too many times.  I don’t have the income to constantly buy new music to freshen up my drive.

This past week I started listening to NPR on my way to work.  Specifically, I’ve been listening to 88.5 WAMU, American University’s NPR broadcast.  During my morning trek I get to listen to Morning Edition and The Writer’s Almanac (hosted by A Prarie Home Companion’s Garrison Keillor).  In the afternoon, I catch All Things Considered.

NPR’s news stories feel more in depth than any of the news bites I hear on television or elsewhere on the radio.  I almost feel like I know absolutely nothing when I hear NPR go deep into the Middle East conflicts or critically analyze the current economic plight of our country.  But NPR has a way to educate while it reports, which makes me feel more in tune with what’s going on in the world.

Now I want to get a radio to keep in the house to listen their other great shows like Car Talk, This American Life, and A Prarie Home Companion on the weekends (I could just download the podcasts, but I rarely sync my iPod anymore).  I feel like I’m stepping backwards into a time when people listened and digested the news rather than just tasted news bites.

Written by Eric Spiegel

February 8, 2009 at 5:31 pm

Leave a Reply

